DIY · Painting

Merry Christmas, Dawg!

 

IMG_1497

My token Christmas post is done.  The thing is, I don’t think I’ll be showing you anything you haven’t already seen out there already. However, it’s my take on it, in my eclectic tightwad way.

DISCLAIMER: In my last post I stated that the 3M product that I purchased from the Home Depot I used was my best friend.  My HUMAN best friend had a problem with that statement, saying she had never found herself in the predicament of being replaced by a craft product before.  I would like to clarify that the 3M product is my BFF in my DIY life only.

Lampshades too expensive to replace for the Christmas season?  Use wrapping paper and Washi tape for a quick- fix.

IMG_1498 IMG_1499 IMG_1500

IMG_1656

 

Washi tape and sticker dots sprayed gold:

IMG_1657 IMG_1506 IMG_1504

IMG_1505

IMG_1613

 

Father-in-Law’s intricate Christmas ornaments – my fave is the little birdhouse with lights, snow and bird peeking out.

IMG_1654 IMG_1655

 

The upside-down vase with Epsom salt snow, pinecone tree and sequinned deer.

.IMG_1583

The branch secured to the ceiling by another fabulous 3M product which is NOT any form of best friend, only a mere acquaintance. Just so we are clear I did NOT have any relations besides a working relationship with said 3M product. (which is actually made to hold your cords to the wall to prevent tangling).

IMG_1522 IMG_1523

Add painted and/or snow sprayed pinecones, bits of tree, sparkly bits and bobs.

IMG_1637

IMG_1650

 

The giant canvas turned from former Wedding seating chart to light-show at my exterior entryway.

IMG_1426

Draw on chosen word with chalk.

IMG_1427

Paint word in.

IMG_1493

Poke holes along word (I used a small screwdriver – we are old friends, nothing more.)

Add exterior Christmas lights. Push bulb through to front of canvas keeping the mess behind. Like so.

IMG_1553  I glue gunned a circle of glue around the front of each light to hold it in place on the canvas.  Some of the holes ended up being a little bigger than the light, so it filled the gap.  Make sure it works inside before you take it outside!

IMG_1548 IMG_1554

Decorate your dog, but do not overly embarrass her. I may have crossed that line…

IMG_1609

And lastly, have the most beautiful, warm, loving, Jesus filled Christmas you can possibly muster!

IMG_1598

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

 

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/7343563/?claim=epeqw3y6hcx”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

There, now you should be able to find me on Bloglovin should you care to.

 

43 thoughts on “Merry Christmas, Dawg!

  1. Hello Painted This! 🙂 You must have the patience of Job to put that washi tape on those stars!!! They look fabulous! I’m in looooove with your lighted Noel sign! You have amazing vision for things others would find to be useless … now I need to run out and find me a big canvas!
    God’s richest blessings to you this Christmas!
    Smiles
    Terry

  2. this post was awesome, I liked every single idea – I’m still giggling over the BF comments re the 3M products but I laughed out loud re the screwdriver one.
    Blessing of the season to you and yours!

  3. FTPT I hate you. Sigh. I have nothing up yet because I’m working 80 hour weeks at the shop. Lots of chocolate. I won’t come near to the fabulousness of you. I want to make that sign. Oh, and hang a branch and put stuff on it and get out my white tree.

    You make my heart sing when I see what you do. It’s so fun to know that there is always a project to do for every season.

    Thank you for your loving and honest support. I had no idea what to expect and being given a chance to know you has been truly an amazing gift from blogging.

    Merry Christmas, the Saviour has been born. ❤

    1. Oh my gosh I am actually bawling! This gift you talk about SO goes both ways. I DO feel like you are my very dear friend (even more than my 3Ms) and I hold that close. Thank you a million times back. Here’s to blogging into the sunset together – you wanna be Thelma or Louise?

    1. LOVE Lucy and Ethel! I just was on your other blog site and I love it. I need to know more about the floor mats. What is it you buy? I could do that for sure!!!

      You should reblog it, January Cure starts soon on apartmenttherapy.com and people will be looking for these kinds of projects! ❤

      1. If you’re talking about the vinyl rug, it’s just a remnant of flooring. Just be sure it’s not too curly edged of a piece if you choose to paint the backside. Training it to stop flipping up is near impossible. If all you can get is curly, just plastic prime the flat way first. I’m not sure about re blogging this soon in my “career”(lol), but I may revisit. Let’s do the chocolate factory scene for fun…

  4. This was awesome! Thank you for making me smile every time. You are refreshing and talented and you don’t take yourself too seriously, that’s why it’s such a pleasure to read you, without mentioning your terrific ideas!

    1. I actually just finished reading the comments and the felt like another entry on your blog! Your exchange with B Harmony was priceless … I wanted to join in an be a part of it! I should stop reading on my phone and do it on my computer… I am missing too much! Merry Christmas 🙏❤️

  5. Oh, I’ve been enjoying myself on your blog. I’ve had to go back several posts to catch up since I’ve been locked away in the Christmas Shoppe for the last month! I really like the Noel sign and may have to borrow that idea – I have in-house artist that could run with that. I also like the coffee table a lot and am one of those people afraid to try to marble anything. Maybe I’ll put it on the bucket list for 2015. God bless as you ring in the New Year – happy painting!

    1. Well thanks so much for letting me know what your plans are! I would love to see what you end up doing. As far as the marble goes, it’s really really not that scary, you just need to start!! I will walk you through it step by step if you ever want to give it a go. I have full faith you can do it 😉

Leave a Reply

