DIY

Fly Me To The Moon

IMG_3601

PROBLEM.  I can’t seem to find enough broken frankenstein globes to resurrect.  This causes me to consider either finding a bulk globe website or perhaps figuring out how to make my own.  That seems daunting to me either way.  One sleepless night, which I seem to be having more of as I age let me add, I decided on all kinds of inspirational ideas (you know, the kind you wake up in the morning with and say “what the heck does that even MEAN?? It seemed SO GENIUS at 3 in the morning”). Other than the idea of calling all the DIY shows with my brilliant musings, one idea kept replaying.  Re-inventing globes and selling them on Etsy.  Now, I have no experience with Etsy. I’ve heard it’s a great way to sell since you don’t need tons of product and it gives you a good idea of if you should even try selling anything at all.  If you’ve had any experience with it, I’d love to hear your point of view.

In the meanwhile, here is how I got to the above image.

Step 1: Fix broken globe.  in this case I couldn’t glue the plastic form underneath the paper, it was too damaged, so I just washi taped around the equator to hold everything in place. I then removed it from it’s axis.  You know, like Zeus. Was it Zeus?  Anyway…

IMG_3573

Step 2: The usual.  Coffee, Paint, Paint, Coffee. Repeat.

IMG_3592

I just layered and layered and layered until I got the effect I was aiming for.  I used the usual craft store paint, some spray paint, and topped it off with chalk words. I liked the soft broken-y feel the chalk words gave it.

IMG_3578  IMG_3580

IMG_3600  IMG_3591

I sprayed the whole thing with gloss sealer. Done and done. It looks moon-y enough for me! Ground Control to Major Tom….

 

 

21 thoughts on “Fly Me To The Moon

  1. It is awesome! I think you should definitely try ETSY! …. of course, I have no experience with ETSY so why should you listen to me but I really think you would do well….. You are amazing at what you do! … I would buy one from you? Free Shipping right? lol! You are so unique in your ideas and I think that is what sells best!
    I hope you are having a good week!
    Smiles!

      1. Awe! … sniffle, sniffle … You made my heart smile! YOU are adored as well! Don’t ever leave me K? ;0) … no, I’m not as needy as I seem lol!
        Smiles!
        Terry

  2. Hello my friend! It is been a long time since I have heard from you and I was just wondering how you are doing. I hope all is well! I miss your witty comments 🙂
    Have a Merry Christmas :-)!
    Smiles!
    Terry

      1. O H M Y G O O D N E S S ! ! ! You scared me! I thought I’d lost you somewhere in the world wide web, never to find you again! I am so happy to hear that you are still here! I have tried to look you up a few times with no luck. I hope you are doing well and having a stress free (is that even possible? … if it is please do share…) Christmas season :0)
        Merry Christmas my friend!
        Smiles!
        Terry

Leave a Reply

