home tour

House, House, Baby

IMG_3910

Well, here it is.  The new future digs. After much deliberation, we decided it was time to downsize, and being that the market here just outside of Vancouver by the ocean is super hot, we thought we’d git while the gitten’s good. Having said that, I am feeling remorseful already since the location of the house we are currently in is pretty perfect.

So what colour would you say this is, anyway? Band-aid? Flesh crayon? Worm? Silly Putty? I call it yucky. This complex has a strata to deal with, but I’m hoping they let me paint it. We don’t get possession until April, so I’ll have to be patient (HA!) and just imagine what I would pick colour-wise should I be allowed to change it. I’m thinking some kind of charcoal could be super sophisticated, like me…(HA again). Or Sage. Or Blueberry. Any ideas?

Inside is bigger than the outside looks and is nicely updated except of course the kitchen. I have plans for that and of course other misadventures along the way.

In the meanwhile, I’ll give you a partial tour of our now, well loved, little diamond as a reminder to you how much I adore it. I hope you did too.

IMG_0286

IMG_0863

IMG_0936

IMG_1571 IMG_1573 IMG_0063 IMG_1586

All these rooms have been tweaked in the three years I’ve been blogging, and even changed since these pictures were taken. I’ll add more in the next couple posts and update you on whether or not my worm-belly new digs will get a face lift. I know Home Depot and I are about to become even closer friends than ever…

Thanks for following along!

 

 

24 thoughts on “House, House, Baby

  1. Beautiful house. Charming yellow door and the grey, yellow doormat is perfect. Every room needs a stag head. Good call. Cherish the memories from your beautiful home and may I suggest, something along the line of charcoal for your new home. I plan to do the same, hopefully sooner than later.
    Best wishes!

      1. Well, persuade them with your style. My house is a similar colour- not sure what to call it- and I’m “requesting” (demanding) a charcoal shade this time. Charcoal highlights all of the greenery that grows around us. It lends a classic look to a home and I believe stands the test of time. Good luck and enjoy.

  2. We will be moving in April too. We get the keys towards the beginning of April, but have to do the carpets and tiles before we can actually move in.
    Wow that all happened so fast! Congratulations!!!

      1. We can do this! We have been waiting for this house for a long time and if we haven’t divorced yet I think we will be okay. I can’t afford a divorce hahaha.

  3. Those color names are spot on, especially bandaid! I’m a newer follower and havent seen your current home, which is beautiful. You’ll have this one fabulous in no time!
    Happy weekend! Kris

  4. Congratulations on downsizing! It is a wise financial move and you will find many benefits. It sure beats moving in with your parents or living in your car! (No, I am not speaking from experience!)

  5. Congratulations on your new home! How exciting and scary at the same time! Oh I can feel your creative juices flowing already …. :)!!!! I will miss seeing your already awesome home but… just think of all the fun you will have making the new place you! I hope everything goes smoothly for you and that it isn’t too stressful a change! I am super excited for you!
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Smiles!
    Terry

  6. Oh my gosh dear Sandy! I’m going to miss your beautiful house and I know it must hurt now, but you’ll soon be in your own sauce, with all those creative juices flowing like rivers in a rainy season ! Looking at those pictures again, your home looks prettier than ever and so UNIQUE. I can’t wait for the next one!

    1. Rivers in a rainy season! Love it! And you are right. I’m going to miss this house dearly but I was was so lucky to have lived here. Now I stare at the new house layout picture and wonder how I’m going to wow you 😳 Ive already changed my ideas several times lol.

  7. Downsizing – a fabulous way to “edit”! One of the things about moving that never ceases to amaze us is unpacking our stuff months in the new digs and thinking, why did we bother to ship this? It is like unwrapping someone else’s used Christmas presents. On the plus side, it is such a wonderful way of getting some distance (literally) and looking at possessions in a detached and dispassionate way.
    We think we do a pretty good job of keeping it minimal in 450 square feet, but it is still amazing how much junky clutter can accumulate.

    Congrats on the new place and we can’t wait to see you work your magic!!

Leave a Reply

