Dining room · DIY · Home Depot · Kitchen · Painting

Drop the Cloth and Back Away…

IMG_1265Ta Da!  Check out the new drapes.  “What’s so special about these drapes?” you ask.  Well, I’ll tell you.  If you venture on Pinterest at all, you will have seen countless examples of paint drop cloths transformed into art.  I tried to do that. The Pinterest inspiration for me was the pink fork and knife someone painted on their drapes.  Perhaps you saw them yourself.

If you follow me for any length of time, you will be assured that you are dealing with someone in love with whimsy. And colour.  And frugality.  Always.  So here’s my take on those things.

IMG_1245  These “before” drapes barely cover the fact that the big black BBQ is old and ugly, and although we have a private backyard, I didn’t like the fact that you could see in the house if it was dark out and the lights were on inside.  Unfortunately, one too many horror movies have made their way into this over-imaginative brain….

IMG_1212  Here’s how it went down.  I purchased a $14.00 drop cloth for hallways from The Home Depot.  The French doors are only around 4′ wide each, so I didn’t need much width.

IMG_1214  IMG_1215  IMG_1216  I laid it out, keeping it in half vertically,  folded it in half again horizontally and cut it in the middle.  I didn’t worry too much about how straight it was since I’d be “hemming” the panels anyway.  I say “hemming” because as a poser seamstress I feel using sewing terminology gives you the wrong impression of my skill set. Just keeping it real, people.

IMG_1224  I taped off the edge for a stripe. I’m no fool, I know when BBQ sauced hands grab the drapes they will sully that canvas panel in no time flat.  I am so not interested in washing these that much.  As a matter of fact, I noticed that a lot of the directions for drop cloth transformations called for washing the cloth first. Why? beats me. So I didn’t.

IMG_1225  Here’s my inspiration, taken directly off my great wall of China.  I love it so.

Fork.   IMG_1229 Knife.

I copied a real- life knife, but drew an imaginary handle. Isn’t copying awesome? Just modify it till you like it!

Paint it.

IMG_1231 IMG_1235

IMG_1268  Peppertree, by Glidden paint (the kitchen accent wall colour), with accents of white, black and gold.

Once that was done, I pulled out all the stops and inserted grommets.  Do NOT be intimidated by these things.  Super easy directions to follow, taking no time at all.  The hardest part was figuring where they should go and how many I’d need.  Remember, math and I are not on speaking terms.

IMG_1236 IMG_1238 IMG_1240 IMG_1242 IMG_1241  Next I hung the drapery panels up and saw how they fell and how long they were, to decide on how much “hemming” was needed.  I prefer drapes to just touch the floor…not too short, not too long, just right.  Thanks for the gauge, Goldilocks.

Get yourself some of this iron on hem stuff and you will love “sewing” again.IMG_1243   IMG_1246  The green tape is my version of basting….I did actually fold over and iron down a double edge for a cleaner, tidy-er look – I’m not a complete savage, and I ironed out the creases where needed.

IMG_1247  And that’s it!

IMG_1270

You can keep the design simpler by just doing stripes, random polka dots (trace cups, bowls etc.), paint splatter or a graphic stencil all over or just around the border. There are so many options.  You could actually sew fabric of your choice for the hem or border.  If  you hate them when you’re done, just revert them back to what they were originally made for. No major loss there.

*Readers – if you try this project, or any other project you have seen on this blog, please let me know and I will link my post to yours.  We can share readers!  Yay, sharing!

 

48 thoughts on “Drop the Cloth and Back Away…

  1. Absolutely amazing you are!!! Drop cloth is my favorite! (mostly because I can afford it! … and it’s neutral. ) You have a talent indeed! Well done on the fork and knife, I would not have been able to do that at all…at least not so they would be recognized as a fork and knife :0)!
    Love it!
    Smiles!
    Terry

  2. Hmm, not sure how I feel about them but I love that you did it, and it made for a great read 🙂 I’ve been intimidated by grommets, so was glad to hear they aren’t as complicated as I’ve been imagining (math also not my strong suit). Maybe finally I’ll tackle those living room sheers I’ve been procrastinating on forever…thanks for the motivation!

    1. I appreciate the honesty! And I’m so glad I encouraged your motivation to go forth and grommet! I would check on the weight of the grommet you try – not sure how they’ll sit on a sheer if they are a heavier grommet. I’m pretty sure there’s finer ones out there. Let me know how you did!

  3. Wow, your curtains look awesome! I had no idea you could do something like that with drop cloth, how cool. Also absolutely love your dining room set, the black and white chairs are gorgeous!

  4. Oh, you are both lovely writer and decorator. Love this piece. Can I get over feeling intimidated by grommets? Hmmm, we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

