before and after · DIY · Home Depot

Shim-Shimeny

IMG_0711Tired of the trees, (see before picture below ) I thought I’d try something new.  Image So, I purchased 4 packages of cedar shims from the Home Depot – $7.00 each and started nailing!  I had no idea how this would look finished, but I also knew I could tear them all down if I hated it.  There is mostly only one nail per shim, and I can putty those holes up easily.

IMG_0618 IMG_0629

Starting in the corner I worked my way across the wall and down, alternating the direction of the shims as I went.  I liked the flawed ones the best and tried to use them as much as possible, sometimes having to overlap them onto one another. Half way down I got very comfortable and was adding pieces willy nilly, having the best time solving the puzzle I called my front entry.

IMG_0615      IMG_0626

IMG_0628

beautifully flawed

IMG_0701

When I was done, I first marvelled that I came away with only a small blood blister on my thumb from when I had an argument with the hammer.  I debated painting random shims in coordinating colours from around the house like black, white, chartreuse, yellow or turquoise, but I just couldn’t decide.  This is the last area you are in before you leave the house so a mirror is appropriate, both colours and mirror may have felt too busy.  But knowing me, I never say never…..

IMG_0706And what a mirror I found!  If you ever needed an example of eclectic , this would be it.

I realize this look will not be for everyone, but if you DO like it, it was fun and easy to do, the investment was minimal and easy to change back if you just can’t live with it.  There are also large flat cedar shims available that would make a great larger feature wall or headboard.  Speaking of headboards, or the fact that I’ve put that project off long enough, it’s the next on my list.  Promise.

They put this project onimages      Heading: From woods to wood

107 thoughts on “Shim-Shimeny

Leave a comment