before and after · DIY · Home Depot · Painting

Shoe-Tastic!

IMG_0524Here it is, my next big save from the thrift store.  I’ve been looking for some time for some sort of seat that was narrow enough to pass by, comfy enough to sit and put on your shoes, easy to look at and most important, as usual, CHEAP.  This one came with a delightful little bonus – storage!!  There are far too many shoes in this house, and honestly they aren’t even mine.  Honestly….

Here’s the before:

IMG_0505

Here’s the bonus:

IMG_0506

A cool $15.00 and she was mine.

Since it is made of vinyl and I did NOT want it to stay brown, I pulled out all the stops and purchased Rustoleum spray paint for plastic in flat white from the Home Depot (4 coats – 2 cans – a darker colour would take less).  I considered painting the trim charcoal or even painting a monogram or graphic stencil on top, but I wasn’t really feeling it, and decided to leave it simple.  I can always add to it or paint it out again if it seems to take a beating.

And SHABANG!  If you recall (and even if you don’t), I posted the Before and After of our front door going from black to Sapling yellow.  And here you can see I’ve used some of the leftover paint as my little surprise inside.  It’s high gloss, so should repel scuff marks made by the shoes.

IMG_0532

 

Those shoes will be placed in nicely like this:

IMG_0536

Oh who am I trying to kid.  They will totally end up like this:

IMG_0537

But no worries, I’ll just do this:

IMG_0529  Oh and disclaimer, the rug you see is actually a runner folded in half that is usually in my hallway.  I have yet to find the entry rug of my dreams.  Remember I told you magazines do this all the time for staging, they just don’t tell you.  They will move things around and even bring things to the shoot.  Shhh it’s a secret.  Just keeping it real, people!

 

 

 

 

 

66 thoughts on “Shoe-Tastic!

    1. Honesty I’ve been looking for a long time, I would find some that would almost be perfect but not quite. I like that it’s on wheels and I can roll it into the living room for extra seating if needed. Don’t give up!!

    1. I think in this application it’s ok. I’ll let you know if it starts to flake or scratches off, but I don’t expect it will, it has worked great on my plastic outdoor furniture. And hey, for $15.00, it’s a good experiment if nothing else, lol!

  1. Oh, that yellow! I am a serious fan of yellow, because yellow is a happy color. And the interior of your shoe seat is the *perfect* place for it—such a fun little surprise when you open the lid!

    1. That’s funny because I never even considered ripping it apart since I don’t have your talents!! I went directly to my comfort zone and did not pass go! Maybe that’s why my blog is not called found this upholstered that, lol

      1. Ok when do I break it to everyone that it was a fluke? In my little brain it made sense that spray paint you use for plastic furniture would work on vinyl, and it did! I’ll be testing it out on other projects, so here’s hoping it comes through for me again!

  2. I love it! Your entryway is gorgeous – the mirror, the rug, the wood wall… swoon! By the way – Rustoleum does make a specialty spray for vinyl that you can buy in black or white. It’s what we used on my desk chair and it’s held up wonderfully!

    1. Oh my gosh I’m starting to hyperventilate! I’d have to clean, re-consider decorating choices, re-consider them again, freak out…but …maybe I’ll consider since you sound so excited…..oh the pressure, lol!

  3. Wow! I’m so jealous. Great find and fabulous transformation. I like Flat White for everything! Literally EVERYTHING! When I first saw the pic I thought it was taken in one of those boutique stores. Love the mirror! House Tour Please!!

  4. This looks fantastic, and I love the idea of giving new life to an old object. I’m just starting to develop my DIY mojo and will need to get some confidence up before I try anything too extensive, but you’ve inspired me!

  5. OMG! So glad you did this one :))
    …and I hear ya about how it will “really” look on the inside once the shoe fairies get there…LOL!!!
    I’m gonna be yard sale hopping this weekend. I’ll keep you posted.
    Dr. D

  6. Wow! I’m a real newbie compared to you! I think I’m going to follow your blog, to learn from a master! 😉

Leave a Reply

